Review: No Turning Back – Never Give Up

Never Give Up

Does No Turning Back really need an introduction? Probably not. In more than 15 years of existence, the Dutch powerhouse has been around, spreading the good spirit and playing stages all over the world. They also released a lot of material, their new album Never Give Up already being their 8th full length. With 12 new songs under their belt, Martijn and the boys proved once more, if need be, why their achievement and longevity is greatly deserved.

You can count on No Turning Back to craft furious short pieces with a positive state of mind. First track ‘Not Fade Away’ couldn’t be more representative of NTB’s trademark sound. Fast and heavy, it’s the perfect invitation to mosh and should easily be a live set opener. NYHC vibes are obviously present throughout the album (‘I Win You Lose’, ‘No Hope’) but you really feel that the band proudly assume their roots and their identity. The presence of different guest vocals on this record brings some fresh air to the songs. Armed with their experience, NTB knows exactly which hardcore rudiments will work and make the tracks sound pure angry. Gang vocals, harmful breakdowns (‘This Time’, ‘Face my Demons’, ‘No Hope’), resonant bass lines and terrific drum parts (‘True Love’, ‘Toe Toe Toe’), you know the deal. Fierce, energetic and direct at the same time, just how we like it.

Although, we might not have encountered some kind of revelation throughout these twenty minutes, one can only admire the persistence and sincerity of this band, their influence and inspiration for younger crews. These guys live for hardcore and to be honest, they don’t really have something to prove anymore. Never Give Up is a show of strength and sounds like a testimony: No Turning Back is here to stay. Let’s assume this record will ensure them a name among the most important European hardcore bands of their generation.

Never Give Up was released on January 7th 2015 on Take Control Records.

Track list – Never Give Up:

1. Not Fade Away
2. Deal With It
3. Destination Unknown feat. Andrew Neufeld (Comeback Kid)
4. I Win You Lose
5. This Time
6. True Love feat. Alexander Klein (World Eater)
7. No Hope
8. Fight To Survive
9. Face My Demons feat. Sakis Vakaloudis (Shattered)
10. Toe To Toe
11. When Will It Stop
12. Not Afraid

No Turning Back: Facebook / Order Never Give Up

Written By Alex Tabankia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s